NCERT Class 12 English : Vistas

NCERT Class 12 English Vistas is a Supplementary Reader book for students. It encapsulates some of the notable works of literature that improve learners writing and reading skills. It makes learners familiar with the writing flair of the notable writers from the country and across the world.

In the syllabus of Class 12 English Vistasimprovises students’ vocabulary and their grip over the English language. It also inspires students to pursue the discipline and to be familiar with the depth of the discipline and make a career in that direction. The book helps students to understand abstract ideas and exercise the power of thinking to develop their own perception.

NCERT Class 12 English Vistas also give students an emotional ride by exposing them to various real-life situations and human values like empathy, compassion, love, care and to correlate with their perspectives as well as to discover the nerves of human to human relationship.

The NCERT class 12English Vistasincludes eight short stories, twelve poetries, and seven essays eloquently elaborated with logical sequencing of the subject matter and proper placement of the concepts.

Writing Skillslike: Note-making, Summarising, Sub-titling, Essay-writing, Letter-writing, and Creative Writing is also an integral part of NCERT Class 12 English Vistas.

Note that Flamingo is the English Reader for CBSE as well NCERT Class 12 and Vistas is the Supplementary Reader.

Chapter 1 – The Third Level

Third Level is a beautiful story about a 31-year-old man, Charlie. This psychological story revolves around the subway that runs at the grand central railway station. This subway takes passengers to Galesburg. This subway somehow also becomes the interconnection between the narrator’s harsh reality and the fantasy that he has in his mind.

Chapter 2 – The Tiger King.

This story is about the Maharaja Sir Jilani Hung Bahadur, the contemporary emperor of Pratibandapuram. Astrologers predicted his future when he was only 10 days old. They said that a tiger will kill him and this how he is going to die. But strangely that 10-day old prince said that let the tigers beware. The boy showcased the splendid bravery since his childhood and he grows up just like any other royal child is raised.

Chapter 3 – Journey to the end of the Earth

This lesson eloquently describes the world’s most preserved place, Antarctica. Tishani Doshi is one of those fortunate and class of people who have been there. The chapter narrates the story of a south Indian person who goes on a science expedition with a group of teenagers. This group is also affiliated with a program called ‘Students on Ice’. This unique program takes young and talented minds to different ends of the world. Readers get an insight into Antarctica and how it is that unique place that shows you of the past, present, and future in its absolute form.

Chapter 4 – The Enemy

The chapter, ‘The Enemy’ is about a Japanese surgeon Sadao. He stays in America and is married to a Japanese girl.  But due to the declaration of World War II, all the doctors were ordered to go to the Japanese army. Sadao stays back with an old general because the old general was in need of Sadao. Students learn how an American Navy man finds out his way in Sadao’s life. A wounded soldier from the enemy’s army walks to Sadao for help, and Sadao, despite knowing the unforeseen danger decides to help him. But Sadao also becomes worried about his life, so he conspires to kill the soldier while he was asleep. But the story shows how humanity and brotherhood win and Sadao decides to save him.

Chapter 5 – Should Wizard hit Mommy?

Should Wizard Hit Mommy? Is a lovely read for literature lovers.  It exhibits how much the little children love to hear all sorts of stories during bedtime from adults. Even when the stories they hear are fables and carry no logic, children just love it. It also describes how the parents also make up fake stories to make them sleep. But for the little ones, those stories are not made-up but very much true. This surely affects the child growing up, psychology, thinking, and attitude and they start questioning things. But parents don’t entertain all sorts of questions, they sometimes discourage such questions. But, is this behavior appropriate? The reader at the end is left to decide for themselves.

Chapter 6 – On the face of it

This is the story of Derry, a teenage boy who has a burnt face, and Mr. Lamb who is a disabled old man and has an artificial leg made of tin. One day Derry accidentally entered in Mr. Lamb’s garden to hide himself from the people who hate him because of his ugly face. Here he meets with Mr. Lamb to learn a very important lesson of his life. He learns from Mr. Lamb about how to lead a normal life and move on by leaving behind his past.

Chapter 7 – Evans Tries an O-level

Evans tries an O-level is a story of Evans, who is also called ‘The Break’. He got this name because he was a genius at breaking out of prisons. In the story, Evans is brought to Oxford prison, where it was extremely tough to do such stunts. Oxford prison had very strict officers too. This time Evans decides to figure out a long way to escape this prison.  The story describes his attempt to break through using a very clever plan, including his friends and befriends other people to accomplish his mission. He comes up with an O’ level exam to break out. The wittiness of the Evans and how it helps him escape is the central idea of the chapter.

Chapter 8 – Memories of Childhood

The chapter incorporates two extracts from two autobiographical episodes from the lives of Zitkala Sa and Bama. Both are victims of ruthless social discrimination. Zitkala is the victim of racial discrimination and Bama is the victim of caste discriminations. With the changing time and in the era of science, technology, and development what did we miss that we could not fight these demons thriving in our society is explicitly described and questioned by the chapter? In both the extracts, the writers Zitkala and Bama look back on their childhood and reflect on their lives and relations with the mainstream culture which ill-treated them. But nothing makes these stories any sort of simple narratives of oppression. Rather they also explain the ways and extents the oppression was resisted by both the victims in their own ways. The chapter questions and slaps the evil scheme of mainstream culture. The chapter also warns the readers that when you choose to stay silent you choose your side. You either support the crime or you oppose it, there is no place that allows you to stand in between.

We are all close together

A problem, a question, an emergency?
Do not hesitate to visit the help centre, we can help you.

ASHA-Ek Umeed

“An Initiative to give Joy Of Learning” and
“One – Stop learning platform”, where search of every student and learner ends